Microsoft warning: Some files might not be deleted when you reset a Windows PC

Microsoft has warned Windows 10 and Windows 11 users that files might not be deleted after resetting the device using the “Remove everything” option. 

The issue stems from Microsoft’s OneDrive cloud file service and could mean files that were synced locally remain on a computer after a local or remote reset, which admins might do before handing the device to a new owner.  

ZDNet Recommends

This issue can occur when attempting a manual reset from Windows or a remote reset from Intune or other mobile device management platforms, Microsoft warns.

SEE: Best Windows laptop: Top notebooks compared

“When attempting to reset a Windows device with apps which have folders with reparse data, such as OneDrive or OneDrive for Business, files which have been downloaded or synced locally from OneDrive might not be deleted when selecting the “Remove everything” option,” Microsoft says in an update to its known issues for Windows 11 21H2.  

“OneDrive files which are “cloud only” or have not been downloaded or opened on the device are not affected and will not persist, as the files are not downloaded or synced locally.”

Microsoft notes that some device manufacturers and some documentation might call the feature

Read More: https://www.zdnet.com/article/microsoft-warning-some-files-might-not-be-deleted-when-you-reset-a-windows-pc/#ftag=RSSbaffb68