More than 30 countries outline efforts to stop ransomware after White House virtual summit

The countries involved in the two-day ransomware summit led by the US have released a joint statement

The summit included representatives from the US, Australia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, the Dominican Republic, , European Union, France, Germany, India, , Israel, Italy, Japan, Kenya, , Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, , South Korea, Romania, , , Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, UAE, and the United Kingdom.

All of the countries agreed that ransomware is an “escalating global security threat with serious economic and security consequences.” The countries reiterated that ransomware requires a “shared response” because of how complex and global the issue is. 

“Efforts will include improving network to prevent incidents when possible and respond effectively when incidents do occur; addressing the abuse of financial mechanisms to launder ransom payments or conduct other activities that make ransomware profitable; and disrupting the ransomware ecosystem via law enforcement collaboration to investigate and prosecute ransomware actors, addressing safe havens for ransomware criminals, and continued diplomatic engagement,” the statement said.

The countries pledged to make systems more resilient through measures, more resources, clear governance

Read More: